Thursday, October 6, 2016

The 2016 Nobel Prize Winners in Chemistry and Physics

The 2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry went to these three scientists: Tomas Lindahl, Paul L. Modrich and Aziz Sancar for having discovered how cells repair their DNA and protect it.

The 2016 Nobel Prize in Physics went to David J. Thouless, F. Duncan M. Haldane, and J. Michael Kosterlitz for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter. Topology is a branch of mathematics that describes properties that only change step-wise.

Related reading: Nobel Prize Events Lack Gravitas

No comments:

Post a Comment